Baking Project (TWD): Chocolate Mascarpone Cheesecake

IMG_0456Cheesecake is generally not on my usual baking repertoire. For one, it makes a ton and for two, my husband hates the stuff so I’d be left to scarf down the whole thing. There are worse things in life I know.

IMG_0446Luckily, now that I’m a graduate student I have a willing population of people who are more than capable taste-testers. But that means I need to make mini-cheesecakes so that they’re easy to divvy out. But how to do the crust? Oreo crumbs obviously because chocolate cheesecake needs a chocolate crust. The problem is: I’m lazy. So instead of Oreo crumbs? How about just an Oreo.

Now to make the cheesecake. I listened to some tips from Alisa of Down Home Desserts and opted to prepare everything in my food processor. Made the whole process (har har) pretty easy. Cream cheese+ sugar+vanilla+a dab of flour+mascarpone. Then some eggs added and finally a bit of sour cream. The result? A delicious super creamy concotion. I frankly would have been happy just eating this stuff out of the bowl.

IMG_0447 IMG_0448

But then chocolate had to happen. I used two dark chocolate Ghiradelli bars, melted them down and then swirled in the cheesecake material. How pretty! But here’s the thing…the chocolate filling stuff was good, but (please don’t hit me), I think I liked it before the chocolate was added? Maybe because it was sweeter and I like sweets.IMG_0449 IMG_0450

I used a medium cookie dough scoop and put a single bob on top of each Oreo crust. Then I baked each pan of a dozen for about 20 minutes at 300F. No water bath used. My first batch came out a little too liquidy in the middle so I popped it back in the oven.IMG_0451 IMG_0453

The batter made about 2 1/2 mini cheesecakes, and I probably could have made even more if I hadn’t consumer more of the batter. Oops?

IMG_0455  IMG_0457

I nibbled on one after it chilled and found the chocolate flavor to be a little too rich for my taste so I topped my next try with a bunch of strawberries. I think the tartness balanced the richness of the cheesecake perfectly. I was also really happy that when chilled, they pop out of their cupcake wrappers super easily. I take them in to class tomorrow so hopefully they’re a hit.

You can read about all the other attempts at this recipe here.

 

17 comments

    1. They’re so dangerous. Since they’re on the width of an oreo you can eat them in 2-3 bites tops. Which means then you’re ready for another one. And another one. And another one…Or maybe you don’t lack will-power/self control like I do!

      1. Hahaha if you’ve read any of my blog entries you will know that will-power and self-control is not really my strong suit..!! But I think I would give them away I guess, and not eat them all myself….

      2. They’re still sitting in my fridge, beckoning me every time I open the door. I’ll be happy when I haul them off to class and get rid of the temptation!

    1. It was my first time making it that way (then again, I’ve only made cheesecake twice) and it was super easy. I wonder why more cookbooks don’t suggest that?

Leave a Reply

